What is anaerobic digestion?

Anaerobic digestion (AD) uses microorganisms to break down organic materials in the absence of oxygen.


The process produces biogas, consisting primarily of methane. Methane gas is the same hydrocarbon (CH4) as the prime constituent of natural gas. The process also produces a liquid product that contains all the plant nutrients of raw manure, but in more biologically accessible forms.

The anaerobic digestion process can be operated under three conventional temperature levels:

  • at low temperature: psychrophilic, 5°C to 25°C;
  • at medium temperature: mesophilic, 35°C to 45°C;
  • at high temperature: thermophilic, 60°C.

The Bio-Terre process operates at unconventional temperatures in the psychrophilic range from 5° C to 25° C. The process uses bacteria conditioned to thrive in low-temperatures to digest a variety of organic substrates, making it ideal for farm use in North America’s cold climate. Over a decade of scientific research backs the technology. This cost effective process was developed specifically for the North American climate and animal production system.

Each temperature regime has advantages. At high temperature, the microorganisms rapidly break down organic matter, but systems may be more sensitive to upsets due to temperature variations. At low temperature, process stability is high, but the process requires larger digester volume.

The Bio-Terre system operating at low temperature is stable even under large variations of temperature, feeding interval, and loading rate.

Bio-Terre Technology reduces operating costs and improves reliability over conventional anaerobic digester technology.

 
 

© Bio-Terre Systems 2018

Site web par Productions Multimage

Qu’est-ce que la digestion anaérobie?

La digestion anaérobie utilise les micro-organismes pour dégrader la matière organique en l’absence d’oxygène.


Le procédé génère du biogaz, qui consiste principalement en du méthane. Le méthane est le même hydrocarbure (CH4) que le premier constituant du gaz naturel. Le procédé produit également un liquide,qui contient tous les nutriments du lisier, mais dans des formes plus facilement assimilables biologiquement.

La digestion anaérobie peut se faire sous trois plages de température différentes :

  • à basse température: psychrophile, 5°C- 25°C;
  • à moyenne température: mésophile, 35°C-45°C;
  • à haute température: thermophile, 60°C.

Le procédé Bio-Terre fonctionne à des températures non conventionnelles dans la plage psychrophile, variant de 5°C à 25°C. Le procédé utilise des bactéries anaérobies conditionnées pour opérer à basse température pour digérer une variété de substrats organiques, offrant ainsi une solution idéale pour les fermes situées dans un climat froid. Plus de dix années de recherches scientifiques soutiennent la technologie. Ce procédé économique a été développé spécifiquement pour le climat nord-américain et les systèmes de production animale.

Chacune des plages de température possède des avantages. À températures élevées, les micro-organismes dégradent rapidement la matière organique, mais le système peut être plus sensible à des changements soudains tels que des variations de température. À basse température, la stabilité du procédé est élevée, mais le procédé requiert un volume de bioréacteur plus grand.

Le système de Bio-Terre qui s’opère à basse température fait preuve d’une grande stabilité d’opération même sous des variations importantes de température, de durée des cycles d’alimentation et de taux de chargement organique.

La technologie de Bio-Terre réduit les coûts d’opération et améliore la fiabilité comparativement à une digestion anaérobie conventionnelle.

 

© Bio-Terre Systems 2018

Site web par Productions Multimage